Fab Four.

Is it already the top four?  Sounds like they have to have a few non-elimination rounds because how are we really going to stretch this out another month?  Tonight we get a triple dose of each contestant–Two solos and a duet.  These are all strong ladies and any one of them could conceivably win.

Here’s how it went down:

1. Amber holcomb

top4_amber1Power of Love by Celine Dion

Wow, those vocals! How flawless was that? She does have emoting issues, though…did I feel connected to her through the tv? no. But I was kind of too focused on her amazeballs vocals to even care. One word: Fab.

RATING:teeth

2. Candice Glover

top4_candice1Find Your Love by Drake

Love that she chose something current! I also love the arrangement, but the whole thing was a little slow…and dare I say…boring.

RATING:big

3. Kree harrison

top4_kree1It Hurt So Bad by Susan Tedeschi

Kree’s vocals are always amazing, and finally I felt like I could feel what she was singing.  This is why i am a little shocked and confuzzled that the judges basically ripped her a new one?  I usually agree with Ms. Minaj, but this was not anywhere near a trainwreck of a performance.  What gives, Nicki?

RATING:big

4. Angie Miller

top4_angie1Who You Are by Jessie J

Hmm, this is an interesting one. I liked it. It was overall better than she has been during most recent weeks. But something was just not quite right about it–and I can’t figure it out. Maybe I would have preferred another Jessie J song? Maybe I have heard Megan Hilty sing this too many times on my Smash playlist? But points for Grandma!

RATING:big


DUET: Kree and Amber

Rumor has It by Adele

Of all of the songs….and of all of the ADELE songs…they pick this? Really? Ugh. I mean, the girls did what they could, but it was doomed from the outset.  needless to say, I was not a fan.

RATING:half

DUET: Angie and Candice

Stay by Rihanna

It was fantastic, they both sound fantastic, but the song didn’t thrill me. So again, they did the absolute best they could.

RATING:big


5. AMBER HOLCOMB

top4_amber2MacArthur Park by Donna Summer

Ugh, I hate this song. Terrible, terrible song.  And on top of that, it is a stretch for one hit wonder.  And Amber kind of sucked it up on this performance, too. So far, she has had the best and worst performance of the night.

RATING:
straight 

6. CANDICE GLOVER

top4_candice2Emotion by The BeeGees the Destiny’s Child

Again, one hit wonder?  Nope.  her vocal was competent per usual, but this song is so background-singer-heavy that it doesn’t really let the solo shine out.  And there is no real climax to the song, either.  One of Candice’s more blah performances.

RATING:half

7. KREE HARRISON

top4_kree2Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harum

I loved her singing this song.  Perhaps I need to come to terms with the fact that this is who she is…she is not going to get down on her knees and bleed emotion out on the stage (she wouldn’t be able to stand back up in her stilettos, anyway.)  She will be a fantastic country star, but i don’t think we can expect anything different from her on this show.

RATING:big


8. ANGIE MILLER

top4_angie2Cry me A River by Julie London

At the risk of making people mad, I am going to say this: I am bored with Angie. I don’t know what it is, but honestly, She is my least favorite of the remaining girls. The judges pimped her so much and I don’t think she will go home. But I think her voice is the weakest of those left. That said, she had some fantastic jazzy moments in this performance.

RATING:big


Four solid girls left.  Honestly, any of these four girls would be an incredibly awesome Idol winner.  I am still rooting for Candice, but I have a feeling it could still be Amber.  I am betting this much, though: whoever wins will have more longevity than Taylor Hicks.

Let me know what you think! Who will go home tonight?  Or will anyone go home tonight?  We shall see…

One thought on “Fab Four.

Leave a Reply

